First off, tonight was a failure of epic proportions. I bought myself a ticket to the midnight showing of X-Men this afternoon intending to meet up with some old friends for the movie... ...and I fell asleep.
To be fair, it's been a rough few days. Phonetics project, take-home exam, Stats final, and a Historical Paper that I really didn't want to write. Now I have six free days to study and prepare for three finals on Thursday and Friday of next week. It's on like Donkey Kong.
Sleep is obviously for the weak, so my fail was that much worse. I was really looking forward to it, too.
At least Friday, Saturday, and Sunday will be good. I'm kittin-sittin for Iris and Lyndsay while they retreat into the woods for a few days. I'll get the details when they get back. They have two little cats named Daniel and Levy. I'm going to take this chance to socialize my darling little princess, Sabrina. I don't know if she'll get along with other cats. She's an only child after all, and that tends to spoil some kids.
We'll see if she gets along with them or not tomorrow night. I have a few errands to run tomorrow morning (and a friggin movie to see, damn it) and then I'm going to pack her up in her lovely little cat-bag-carrier-thingy and take her on over to Iris's place. Then I'll let her meet the boys. She's not destructive, so I'm not concerned about personal property damage, but I remember sometimes when she'd be "in a mood" and totally PWN that dog we used to live with. Cuz she's not declawed. My older sister told me how inhumane it is. I can think of more than a few people whose finger tips I'd clip off before I'd do it to an animal.
So that's how it is. That's how it's gonna be. Then the summer will arrive, and I can see if my lofty goals for exercise will actually melt the lovehandles from my waistline. The preferable state would be that I get back into the groove I once had, loose 10 bad pounds, gain 1o good pounds. That would be ideal, but I haven't fully thought through what my work schedule is going to be like for the summer.
Tomorrow morning, I'll go see a movie, pay my rent, tell my property manager that my AC is out of freon, and check on my motorcycle. Last time I called, they said "it wasn't ready yet" and I left it at that. It certainly DID need a lot of work, but they've had it for two weeks now. I want it back already. I've missed all the really mild temps and LIGHT pollen days that are ideal for riding. From here on out, it's going to be sunny, muggy, and miserable. Not to mention the fact that I hate having to drive the Tahoe to school and fight for parking.
To end on a happy note, as always, I'm constantly in awe of and impressed by my bandwidth here at the house. No joke, I think I've downloaded well over a terabyte of new shit since I moved in back in January. I have all the Star Treks. ALL OF THEM. More movies than I can count; it's gotta be over 800 since the Jackie Chan collection (57 movies) finished. And I am pretty sure I've got every cartoon series I ever watched as a child. The Smurs, The Snorks, and even SPONGEBOB will finish in a week. I'm even moving up to getting Threes Company and Saved By The Bell.
All of this is of course backed up to the six 1TB drives I keep inside my firesafe. So even if disaster strikes, I can keep these shows forever for WHENEVER I get the time to watch them. Most of them are poor quality TV-rips, but that doesn't bother me. Someday, the fancy will strike, the time will be there, and I'll be compelled to watch all the episodes of The Real Ghostbusters or Rescue Rangers and nothing will stop me. Sweet huh?
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

you should totally get Sabrina a sister if she gets along with other cats. I have a pretty little tortoiseshell kitten just waiting to be spoiled by someone like you...
ReplyDeletegood luck with finals! I hope you get your bike back before the summer gets too miserable to enjoy it
-sonya
It did not go well. Not at all. She ninja'd around the place after I put the boys in the kitchen for almost two full hours. Then I let the boys out and she spent all night long behind the couch hissing at them. She eventually emerged and sat with me on the couch while I read one of Iris's many sex books, but she was having NONE of the boys. I'll give it another shot tomorrow when I go check on them, but I'm not anticipating much improvement in her behavior.
ReplyDeleteawww, maybe she just doesn't like boys. when I took in Leela [momma cat], she was totally antisocial for the first week, but now she's starting to warm up to my other cat and the dogs. and maybe some non-ninja maternal instincts might kick in around a baby.
ReplyDeleteNot that i'm trying to persuade you. haha
even if you don't take the kitten, you still should come down and visit once classes are over!